Welcome to RISD! 

We are excited to meet you and welcome you in to the RISD community. Below please find a list of important dates pertaining to graduate students and links to more information. 

Monday, June 13, 2016 

MA in Interior Architecture off-campus Summer Program begins.  Summer program ends Friday, July 29.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Residence halls open for students attending Summer Orientation. 

Summer Orientation begins. Graduate students enrolled in the Master of Design Interior Studies and MARCH Architecture summer start program participate in Summer Orientation.  International students who require a visa to study in the U.S. will be required to participate in International Orientation, beginning September 1. 

Monday, June 20, 2016

Master of Design Summer Program Interior Studies (Adaptive Reuse) begins. Summer program ends Friday, July 29.

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Summer health insurance waiver due (optional, only for transfer students enrolled in Summer Foundation Studies who do not want to participate in RISD's health insurance plan). 

Saturday, July 9, 2016 

Residence halls open for Master of Arts Teaching Program

Monday, July 11, 2016

Classes begin for Master of Arts in Teaching Program. Summer classes end Thursday, August 18. 

Saturday, July 30, 2016

Residence Halls open for Landscape Architecture students

Monday, August 1, 2016 

10:00 am Fall web registration for new graduate and new transfer students

Landscape Architecture Design Foundation/ Field Ecology class for incoming grad students begins. Class ends Friday, August 26.

Monday, August 15, 2016

Health insurance waiver deadline (optional, only for students who do not want to participate in RISD's health insurance plan for the 2016-2017 academic year) 

Thursday, September 1, 2016

International Orientation begins.  International Orientation is required for all new graduate students who require a visa to study in the U.S. If you do not require a visa but consider yourself part of the international student community, please email oiss@risd.edu. 

Tuesday, September 6, 2016- Saturday, September 10, 2016

Graduate Welcome Week events begin.  Click here for the Welcome Week Schedule